WAM Announce WAM Song Of The Year Awards 2018/19 Winners

Written by Jay-Dee on 27th June, 2019
WAM Announce WAM Song Of The Year Awards 2018/19 Winners

WAM have revealed singer-songwriter Carla Geneve as the winner of their Grand Prize at WAM's Song of the Year Awards 2018-19 for her song Greg's Discount Chemist.

After bursting onto the Perth music scene just a few years ago, the exceptionally talented Albany born artist has gone from strength to strength, with her unique brand of honest raw folky indie rock making her highly sought after.

Grand Prize Runner-up was Flewnt (Josh Eggington & Vanessa Hopes) with their song Kya Kyana and the Grand Prize Second Runner-up went to Riley Pearce for his track Elephants.

Flewnt also picked up three awards for the Outstanding Indigenous and Urban/Hip Hop categories alongside their Grand Prize Runner-Up win for Kya Kyana

Other winners include the likes of Ava Sharp, Brayden Sibbald, Elderflower, Electrocity Ensemble, Feels, Nick Abbey, Pat Chow, Riley Pearce, Stephen de Filippo, Tara Tiba, The Eastern Line, The Hunting Birds, Tom Fisher and The Layabouts and Trolley Boy also taking out category honours.

Check out the full list of WAM Awards 2018/19 winners below.

GRAND PRIZE WINNER Carla Geneve Greg's Discount Chemist



ACT-BELONG-COMMIT Presented by Act-Belong-Commit & Studio Sponsor Vision Studios

WINNER - Pat Chow Are You Okay?

BLUES/ROOTS Presented by Perfect Pitch Publishing & Studio Sponsor JRF Recording Studio

WINNER - Tom Fisher and The Layabouts Old Man Of The Blues

COUNTRY Presented by Spotify & Studio Sponsor Soundbaker Studios

WINNER - The Eastern Line Letter To A Baby Girl

ELECTRONIC Presented by Alex Hotel 'Bivouac & Studio SponsorPavement Studios

WINNER Feels They Need Us (feat. Stella Donnelly)

EXPERIMENTAL Presented by Space Cassette & Studio SponsorBlackbird Sound Studio

WINNER - Stephen de Filippoa moment like this . . ?

FOLK Presented by Clancy's Fremantle & Studio Sponsor Blondel Recording Studios

WINNER - Riley Pearce Elephants

HEAVY/METAL Presented by Firestarter Distribution & Studio Sponsor Templeman Audio

WINNER - Elderflower Perished Walls Speak

JAZZ Presented by Placeorpoint, Audiofly & Studio Sponsor Crank Recording

WINNER - Nick Abbey Song For Days When

OUTSTANDING INDIGENOUS Presented by Nannup Music Festival & Studio Sponsor Poons Head Studios

WINNER - Flewnt Kya Kyana

OUTSTANDING REGIONAL Presented by APRA AMCOS & Studio Sponsor Hopping Mouse Studios

WINNER - Brayden Sibbald Spider's Web

POP Presented by Sorrento Strategic Music & Studio Sponsor Tone City Recording Studio

WINNER - The Hunting Birds Currents

PUNK/HARDCORE Presented by Rhubarb Records/XVinylX, The Poster Girls & Studio Sponsor Sumo Sound Studios

WINNER - Trolley Boy Derby Jetty

ROCK Presented by Freo.Social & Studio Sponsor Tunafish Recording Company

WINNER - Carla Geneve Greg's Discount Chemist

SCHOOLS & UNDER 14 Presented by City of Fremantle & Studio Sponsor Real2Reel

WINNER - Ava Sharp Shattered Heart

SCHOOLS 15-17 Presented by Lolly Box Music & Studio SponsorArtisan Music

WINNER - Electrocity Ensemble Can't Help This Feeling

URBAN/HIP HOP Presented by RTRFM & Macando Music ' Studio Sponsor Sundown Studios

WINNER - Flewnt Kya Kyana

WORLD Presented by I Heart Songwriting Club & Studio SponsorShanghai Twang Studios

WINNER - Tara Tiba Bahar